India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Photo/courtesy.

JUNE 5 – Prime minister Narendra Modi has been declared victor in the India national elections on
Tuesday night for a third consecutive time with a different political route due to its loss of the
majority seats in the parliament.

Despite the win for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), its mandate is weaker. The party fell short
of 272 seats and will solely rely for its coalition, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to build a
complete government.

The BJPs won with 240 seats out 543 a huge difference compared to the 303 seats it won in the
last election in 2019, while the allies secured 99 seats making the National Development Front  (NDF) to 293 Majority seats leaving the opposition, INDIA bloc with 228 seats.

Also read: S. Africa Elections: Why Coalition Gov’t Is Inevitable

The BJP lost in three Hindi states after a tragic fight on the election that was expressed as
referendum for Modi’s popularity, this was a major cause for his fall back on the majority seats.
While the Lok Sabha has 543 seats, counting was held for 542 seats after the Mukesh Dalal a
BJP candidate was elected unopposed.

“This victory is a win for a largest democracy” PM Modi said during the victory celebrations.
BJP will hold a cabinet meeting today to dissolve the current government and form a new one
with the alliance.

His victory has brought some international reactions with him retaining power. Japan
congratulated Modi alliance on their victory declaration, while the United states, stated to
continue expecting close partnership with the country.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x